OpenAI's Navier-Stokes Proof: 4.9M Messages, ~10K Agents, and a $15M Token Bill

• News Analysis • About 11 min read

On September 8, 2026, OpenAI published a paper, a Lean 4 formal verification, and a 1,103-point Hacker News thread claiming an AI agent group had solved the Navier-Stokes blow-up Millennium Prize problem. The math story is the headline, but the more durable signal for APIRank readers is the one in the announcement's small print: 4.9 million messages, about 300 billion output tokens, ~10,000 concurrent agents, ~88 hours end-to-end. Priced at GPT-6 Astra's published API rates, that workload already clears $15M in output tokens alone — before counting input tokens, the unreleased internal model's cost, or the human team that organized the run. This piece is the verified breakdown of the cost economics, the two-model architecture (unreleased frontier model for proof + GPT-6 Astra for verification), and the concurrent-work dispute with NYU's Tristan Buckmaster and Anthropic's Alpöge.

TL;DR: OpenAI's agent group sent 4.9M messages and used ~300B output tokens across all attempted problems (not just the winning one); the Navier-Stokes resolution alone ran ~10K concurrent agents for ~88 hours; GPT-6 Astra performed the 17-hour Lean 4 verification. At GPT-6 Astra's $50/M output rate on OpenRouter, the output bill alone is ~$15M — Noam Brown confirms the run cost "millions of dollars." The proof used an unreleased next-gen OpenAI model (significantly stronger than GPT-6 Astra); GPT-6 Astra is just the verification step. NYU's Tristan Buckmaster and Anthropic's Alpöge were working on the same problem independently; Sam Altman's Sept 8 response accused the Anthropic side of threatening a plagiarism complaint. For API consumers, the practical signal is that frontier research-grade agent workloads now cost seven figures per problem at current rates, and the input-token half of the bill is not disclosed.

What OpenAI actually announced

OpenAI's announcement (Sept 8, 2026) — a paper hosted at openai.com/index/navier-stokes-solution/, cross-posted to HN where it drew 1,103 points and 955 comments in 24 hours — describes a single agent group that worked on multiple mathematical problems before producing a verified Navier-Stokes blow-up solution. The relevant quoted numbers, in OpenAI's own words:

  • "Across all attempted problems, the agents sent 4.9 million messages and used about 300 billion output tokens." — this is the cumulative bill for the multi-problem campaign, not just the winning proof.
  • "The group that produced the Navier-Stokes resolution involved on the order of 10,000 concurrent agents." — top HN commenter seizethecheese pulled this line directly from the announcement.
  • The full workflow ran ~88 hours end-to-end; the Lean 4 formal verification took ~17 hours and was performed by GPT-6 Astra (the $10/$50 model launched Sept 5).
  • The proof itself was produced by an unreleased next-generation OpenAI model described in the announcement as "significantly more capable than GPT-6 Astra."

This is a structurally important point: the proof step and the verification step used different models. OpenAI's announcement is careful to position GPT-6 Astra as the verifier (which is auditable and reproducible via the API) while reserving the actual generator credit for a model they have not yet released. For API consumers evaluating "frontier agent capability," the published $10/$50 GPT-6 Astra rate is the lower bound — the model that did the harder work is not on the price sheet yet.

The cost math: $15M+ at published API rates

Pricing GPT-6 Astra on OpenRouter as of 2026-09-09:

Tier Prompt / 1M Completion / 1M
GPT-6 Astra (standard)$10.00$50.00
GPT-6 Astra Pro (standard)$10.00$50.00
GPT-6 Astra (batch)$5.00$25.00

Source: openrouter.ai/api/v1/models, fetched 2026-09-09. GPT-6 Astra created=2026-09-05 on OpenRouter.

The output token bill alone, priced at the standard rate:

300,000,000,000 output tokens × $50 / 1M tokens = $15,000,000

That is just the completion cost. The prompt-side bill is not disclosed by OpenAI, but agent workflows typically carry prompt costs of a similar order of magnitude when each agent reads large proof contexts, tool outputs, and prior step state. Even with generous discounting, the run is a seven-figure event. Noam Brown (OpenAI reasoning team lead) confirmed on X (Sept 8) that the run cost millions of dollars, with the caveat that "costs will fall fast." The internal next-gen model is not priced at all — it is not on the API.

What the cost economics tells about frontier agent workloads

Two operational takeaways for anyone running large agent systems:

  1. Cache reads matter more than headline rates. The 17-hour Lean verification is the equivalent of thousands of repeated LLM calls over the same proof context. If your agent architecture cannot cache prefix reads, you pay the full $50/M every time. Anthropic's Claude Fable 5.1 cuts cache reads to $0.25/M (−75% from $1.00/M on Sept 1, 2026); OpenAI's batch tier halves the rate; cached inference discounts on Workers AI and OpenRouter can drop effective costs another 50-90% on long-prefix workloads.
  2. Multi-model architectures split the bill across rate sheets. OpenAI's own architecture used a frontier unreleased model for the creative step and a published frontier model (GPT-6 Astra) for the verification step. Anthropic's Haiku 4.5 ($1/$5) and Sonnet 5 ($2/$10) handle routing and verification in many published reference architectures; routing the cheap, repeatable steps through cheaper models can drop a multi-agent cost curve by 5-10× without changing the model that does the hard work.

The concurrent-work dispute with NYU and Anthropic

Tristan Buckmaster (NYU mathematician) posted a public statement on Sept 7, hosted at cims.nyu.edu/~tristanb/statement.pdf, describing a year of work with Anthropic researcher Alpöge on AI-assisted fluid dynamics. The timeline he lays out:

  • Buckmaster and Alpöge had been collaborating with AI on fluid dynamics problems for over a year.
  • In mid-August 2026 they found a counterexample for a simpler version of the Navier-Stokes problem.
  • Over subsequent weeks both groups independently worked on the full blow-up problem; communication between the groups was attempted but unsuccessful.
  • OpenAI's announcement came on Sept 8 with a public release of the proof.

Sam Altman publicly responded the same day (Sept 8) with a longer post that argues the Anthropic side had only an Euler result, that coordination between the groups had failed, and that the Anthropic side had threatened a plagiarism complaint. Noam Brown and Daniel Imberman posted commentary acknowledging the cost (Noam: "costs will fall fast"; Daniel: "improve the model for everyone"). Emad Mostaque called the result a milestone toward ASI. Simon Willison covered the controversy but stayed neutral on the credit question.

For the math: Terrence Tao posted a Mastodon thread (mathstodon.xyz/@tao/117233527638291447) describing the technical content of the result. Tao has not yet issued a final verdict on the proof; independent review is still pending. A blow-up solution would be a substantive answer to the Millennium Prize question, but the community has not finished checking the proof text. Buckmaster's statement raises procedural concerns about credit attribution that the math side cannot resolve on its own.

What the dispute tells API consumers

The credit question matters less for the API cost story than the engineering fact it confirmed. Two independent teams, using different institutional infrastructure (OpenAI's frontier unreleased model + Lean 4 verification; NYU's classical training + Anthropic's internal tools), converged on the same problem within weeks of each other. The capability signal — that this kind of multi-agent research workload is now reproducible at multiple organizations — is the durable takeaway, regardless of who gets historical credit for the Millennium Prize.

The two-model architecture: frontier generator + published verifier

OpenAI's announcement is explicit that two distinct models participated. The architecture is a useful template for anyone designing agent systems that need auditable outputs:

Step Model Approx. cost basis Reproducibility
Proof generation (creative step)Unreleased next-gen OpenAI modelNot disclosedNo (model not on API)
Lean 4 formal verification (17 h)GPT-6 Astra$50/M output × 17 hYes (OpenRouter / OpenAI API)
Multi-agent orchestration~10K concurrent agentsAll rolled into the 4.9M / 300B totalsNo (internal coordination)

The split is the durable design pattern. The creative step (proof, generation, ideation) lives behind a frontier model whose API price is whatever the frontier labs charge at release; the verification step (formal check, unit test, static analysis) runs on a published, cheaper model where every call is auditable and the bill is predictable. The same pattern shows up in production agent deployments that route Haiku 4.5 or Sonnet 5 to the verification side of a Claude pipeline, or that route GLM-5.3 Flash ($0.15/$0.50) to the verification side of a Z.ai workflow.

What this means for the OpenAI API price sheet

Nothing changes in the published numbers. GPT-6 Astra remains $10/$50 per 1M tokens on OpenRouter as of 2026-09-09; the batch tier is $5/$25; the standard Pro tier is the same as standard. What changes is the operational envelope:

  • Frontier research workloads are a real product tier — millions of dollars per problem at current rates, with cost trends tracking Noam Brown's "will fall fast" prediction.
  • GPT-6 Astra is positioned as the verification layer, not the frontier creative model — a useful signal for anyone pricing a multi-model deployment: published frontier models are increasingly the audit layer above a more capable internal generator.
  • Input-side cost discipline matters more than ever — at 4.9M messages, even modest prompt-side efficiency wins ($0.50/M cache reads, prompt caching, agent deduplication) compound into six-figure savings on a single research campaign.

The Clay Millennium Prize committee has not yet ruled on whether the proof satisfies the formal prize conditions; that review can take months or years. For API consumers, the practical question — whether frontier labs can reliably coordinate thousands of agents to produce auditable, verifiable outputs at published rates — has been answered: yes, at seven figures per problem.